Frostgrave First Impressions

So I got to play my first game of Frostgrave yesterday, and I was very impressed. I have tried a few other skirmish miniature games (mostly Malifaux 2e, and a few d10 based home brewed games) and this was by far the easiest to understand and play. Even with six players the whole game lasted about 4 hours, which was a good length. We were all eager to make sure we made off with our treasure.

I think that this brings up my favorite point about this game. The main goal is not to defeat your opponent, but to get the most treasures and get out. This drives everything from the way you build your crew, the spells that you choose, and how you play.

Your crew consists of a Wizard, an Apprentice, and soldiers. The soldiers are basically there to protect your magic users, as their cannot really fight off the monsters you will encounter by themselves. Basically they are monster bait. While they fight off creatures your wizard and apprentice snag treasure and run.

The mechanics are all based on a d20 roll against a target number for spell casting, or against an opposed roll if fighting, so you can focus more on how you are moving around the table rather than making sure you understand the mechanics.

Another fun benefit is that this is meant to be played as a campaign. Your wizard gains experience and loot after each game, which advances them to learn more spells and have better abilities as you move forward.

The setting is creative as well, with 10 different types of magic that all feel and work differently, giving each crew a separate flavor. I played the Illusionists in my game, which can do things like invisibility, transposing with other models, or luring or repelling opponents by taking a different appearance. Other types include Chronomancers, Necromancers, Sigilists, and Enchanters.

North Star is offering a full line of miniatures for the game, and some are really pretty cool looking. I like the Summoner the best, I think. Though if I decide to get involved in this one I may pick out some Bones miniatures that fit instead, since the other groups don’t appeal to me as much.

All that said I think it would be fun to play as an RPG as well, though I think my days of running RPGs are done. It’s a good deal of work and never comes out as well as I would like.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

